How to factory reset a Wyze bulb

Thanks to its affordable price and reliable performance, the Wyze bulb has become one of the the best smart light bulbs on the market. But like all electronics, it’s not immune to technical issues or performance hiccups. When this happens, a factory reset is often the best solution.

Performing a factory reset on the Wyze Bulb will erase all attached data and return it to the state it was in when you first unpacked it. This is a great way to fix a lot of bulb issues – but be aware that you’ll need to reconnect the device after the reset is complete.

Here’s how to factory reset your Wyze bulb as well as your Wyze bulb colors.

John Velasco / Digital Trends

How to Factory Reset Wyze Bulb and Wyze Bulb Color

Again, remember that resetting your Wyze bulb to factory settings will erase its settings and make it behave like a brand new product. If that’s what you’re hoping for, here’s how it works.

Step 1: Find the switch attached to your Wyze Bulb or Wyze Bulb Color and turn it on and off three times in succession.

Step 2: When you do it right, the Wyze bulb will start to blink. This means the reset was successful. If it doesn’t start flashing, wait a few minutes and then repeat the process.

Step 3: From there you can go through the setup process and connect it to your home network and smartphone app.

When should you reset your Wyze bulb?

Since a factory reset will delete all of your Wyze bulb data, this is a great troubleshooting technique to fix any issues with the bulb. This includes slow smartphone app response or unresponsive performance. It’s also a good choice if you want to connect it to a new Wi-Fi network.

You’ll also want to perform a factory reset before selling or donating your Wyze bulb, as this will ensure a smooth setup process for the new user.

A handful of users have tried to factory reset their Wyze Bulb Color because it is only lights up red. However, attempts to complete a factory reset fail.

If this happens to you, there’s a good chance your light bulb is officially dead – consider getting in touch Wyze Customer Support see if they can provide further guidance.

Editor’s recommendation